Archive for thurston moore

Sonic Youth unveil tracklist for 16th album… a while ago

Posted in Music News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on Monday, February 23, 2009 by Ryan Buege


.. How did I forget to post this on the site? This is only the one band that finds its way into my ears each and every day. Nevermind, the album won’t be here til this summer anyway..

The Eternal is the first music Sonic Youth has recorded since their 2006 album, Rather Ripped. We can expect this to be in our hands on June 9, 2009, and it is the first release the Sonic Youth is making through the thriving and decidely independent Matador Records after their long tenure at Geffen. Produced by John Agnello and the band, The Eternal was recorded through November and December of last year at the band’s Echo Canyon West studio in Hoboken, NJ. Additionally, this album will feature the SY recording debut of former Pavement bassist Mark Ibold.

The press sheet says its their most inspired effort in a long time, and since Rather Ripped ranks near the top of the catalog for me anyway, I’m not complaining. The tracklist is:

Sonic Youth, The Eternal1. Sacred Trickster
2. Anti-Orgasm
3. Leaky Lifeboat (For Gregory Corso)
4. Antenna
5. What We Know
6. Calming the Snake
7. Poison Arrow
8. Malibu Gas Station
9. Thunderclap for Bobby Pyn
10. No Way
11. Walkin’ Blue
12. Massage the History

Sonic Youth will be touring throughout the summer in support of the new album, and I urge them to book a Minneapolis show.