Archive for enslaved

Mind Inversion’s Sound Immersion 02/09 (Vol. 1)

Posted in Mind Inversion Exclusive, Sound Immersion with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on Tuesday, February 10, 2009 by Ryan Buege


The time has finally come for us at Mind Inversion to come together to release our very first of what promises to be a very long line of monthly playlists to rock your body and soothe your weary eardrums. After some friendly prodding from our trusted pals over at PerfSpot (wink), each of our current contributors crept out from the shadows to put in their two cents about what they’re listening to this month. As any consistent reader of our site might hope, this sampler presents you with the kind of unbelievable variety that I don’t think you can find anywhere else. When listening, keep this in mind.

It is also important to remember that most of the people contributing to this list have been stranded in the subzero temperatures of Minnesota for more than a few weeks. Clearly, there is an heavy air of reflection throughout this simultaneously uplifting and introspective wintery mix. Meanwhile, a couple of our contributors are transplanted out West right now, displaced from their familiar Midwestern surroundings; Eddie for school, and Dan on an extended journey of self discovery. Dan’s camera captured the magnificent image you see as the album cover above during his ongoing trip through California and Oregon.

Without further ado, here is the tracklist for Mind Inversion’s February 2009 Sound Immersion playlist:

01. Solid Gold – “Get Over It” (contributed by Ryan)
02. P.O.S. – “Goodbye” (contributed by Tim)
03. The Broken West – “Perfect Games” (contributed by Nick B.)
04. Enslaved – “To the Coast” (contributed by Ryan)
05. DM Stith – “Just Once” (contributed by Erik)
06. The Decemberists – “The Legionnaire’s Lament” (contributed by Nick H.)
07. Soul Position – “Priceless” (contributed by Dan)
08. Kaz James – “Breathe (Nick Galea Remix)” (contributed by Nick B.)
09. Lamb of God – “In Your Words” (contributed by Ryan)
10. Lookbook – “Believe the Hype” (contributed by Ryan)
11. Fieldtriqp – “Inflight” (contributed by Eddie)
12. Craig Armstrong – “Weather Storm” (contributed by Nick H.)
13. Blacklisted – “Canonized” (contributed by Ryan)
14. Samon Kawamura – “Right Here (feat. Oh No)” (contributed by Tim)
15. Watussi – “Purple Moon” (contributed by Erik)
16. Grails – “Acid Rain” (contributed by Dan)
17. Cynic – “Adam’s Murmur” (contributed by Dan)
18. Nine Inch Nails – “The Four of Us are Dying” (contributed by Eddie)
19. Cymarshall Law & Mr. Joeker – “The Takeoff (Getting It)” (contributed by Tim)
20. Boards of Canada – “Dayvan Cowboy” (contributed by Nick B.)

You’re almost there! Click “Read More” for the exclusive download link of our first playlist, Sound Immersion 02/09 (Vol. 1)!

Continue reading


Album Review: Enslaved, Vertebrae

Posted in Music Reviews with tags on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 by Ryan Buege

As we slowly transition into the bitter cold of winter in Minnesota, so coincides the release of the Enslaved‘s latest album. This long running group of progressive-black metal masters has been at the forefront of the genre for several years now, and Vertebrae continues their progression out of the frosts of Norway into the international spotlights. ..but don’t worry, these guys obviously haven’t forgotten the bleakness of the landscape they left behind.

Vertebrae is a nearly perfect release for Enslaved; a beautifully epic journey through a minefield of crushing, frostbitten guitar riffs, intricate song structures, and a balance of extreme violence and hopeful splendor. In addition, the soaring vocals of frontman Grutle Kjellson that lead the charge are constantly contrasted with his harsh, despairing growl, and it provides a sense of balance that even the best metal albums often lack. Dense atmospherics that complement the searing assault provide a sense of depth that even Enslaved hasn’t yet achieved on their illustrious back catalog. The whole package is an ambitious, boundary expanding experiment that still adheres to the defining aspects of what makes Enslaved so awesome. But while the tortured black metal furor is still very much at the heart Vertebrae, Enslaved has achieved a level confidence in their psychedelic experimentation that places this album a step up from its predecessors. This is an album that captures an evolutionary band at the pinnacle of modern extreme metal in their most focused, mindblowing display of power yet. Enslaved have crafted their most recent masterpiece, a release that will surely leave legions of unsuspecting victims shuddering in fear for years to come.