Archive for Fifa Soccer 2012 Soundtrack

The Ting Tings Sounds from Nowheresville Drops Tomorrow…

Posted in Music News, News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on Monday, March 12, 2012 by Eric Gilardi

Again, here is the same old story with another band who had so much success from their debut album. How is your sophomore album going to be? For the duo from the UK, we can only hope that Sounds from Nowheresville is worth this long wait. The Ting Tings debut album We Started Nothing was released in May of 2008 and featured hits “That’s Not my Name”, “Great DJ” and “Shut Up and Let Me Go”. Katie White and Jules de Martino rode the success of the new album all the way to a nomination for Best New Artist at the 2010 Grammys.

Almost 4 years later we have arrived at the sophomore album so the name is fitting for the new album since we haven’t heard but a few glimpses off of it. The Ting Tings have been working on this album for a while and the few glimpses we have heard points in the direction that Sounds from Nowheresville will not disapoint. “Hands” was released in October of 2010 and is a catchy track that made its way onto the Fifa ’12 Soundtrack. That soundtrack I may add is one of the best sport games soundtracks of all time.

“Hang It Up” was released in October of last year on YouTube.

“Silence” is another track off of the new album and the remix was released on The Ting TingsVEVO last November. Even though it has taken the band almost 4 years they have leaked a few tracks so we can get excited about this new album. The album was released in the UK on February 27th and is due out March 13th in the US.


Album Review: Digitalism, I Love You, Dude

Posted in Album Review, Music Reviews, Reviews with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on Monday, February 27, 2012 by Eric Gilardi

In my mind, there are electronic dance music albums that are just that and then there are music albums that are electronic dance music. I Love You, Dude by Digitalism is definitely the latter. Digitalism is an electronic house duo from the city of Hamburg, Germany consisting of members, Jens Moelle and İsmail Tüfekçi. I Love You, Dude is their follow-up album to their idealistic debut, Idealism. Sophomore albums have a tendency to make me worry. Especially, when following a successful debut album and as in succesful, I mean a great listen for me.

Probably one reason I really like this album and what Digitalism is doing is because there is more to their electronic music. They bring more of a punk element to the table and use lyrics in a lot of the tracks on I Love You, Dude. The album starts with the classic heavy drones of Digitalism in “Stratoshpere.” The song is a perfect instrumental build up into what is to come. They follow it with “2 Hearts” which showcases the duos talent to sing and well, talk together through a portion of the track.

The third song on the album is definitely gaining popularity throughout the gaming community of the world as it is featured on EA Sports’ Fifa Soccer ’12. “Circles” is the name of the song and it has a way of making you want to play it again and again. This goes for the game, the song and the album. After two songs with lyrics they come back with “Blitz” another head bobbing instrumental track that gives your mind a break from having to digest too much information. Once you listen to the next song, “Forrest Gump,” you will understand just why it is called that.

Once the sixth track hits, you are wondering what kind of album you are listening to for a second? “Reeperbahn” is an in-your-face heavy electronic metal rendition. It gears you up for the home-stretch of the album. In the back portion of the album it makes you feel more like Digitalism made the soundtrack for Tron: Legacy instead of Daft Punk. “Antibiotics” is an upbeat funky rendition that makes you feel like you are participating on “The Grid.”

On “Just Gazin'” they do a great job of making you feel as if you are gazing off into a sunrise that causes you an ultimate euphoria. After you are placed in that peaceful state of well being the talented German electronic duo come back at you with the heavy hitting “Miami Showdown.” The second to last track, “Encore”, is another fun instrumental track on the album. It picks up momentum and at a point a couple of minutes in you get a picture in your mind of a crowd somewhere getting off of their feet. They close the album with “Harrison Fjord,” enough said.

Release Date: June 20, 2011