Archive for March 13 2012

Album Review: Miike Snow, Happy to You

Posted in Album Review, Music Reviews, Reviews with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on Thursday, June 21, 2012 by Eric Gilardi

Happy to You starts out in formidable Miike Snow fashion with a relaxing and engaging sound. “Enter the Joker’s Layer” captures you from the start with the groups ability to blend digitally appealing sounds around the harmonious voice of frontman Andrew Wyatt. “The Wave” comes in with a cavalry sounding drumline fit for a king. It is a song that focuses on the overall sound with a strong but softening drumline. This theme is carried out through the entirety of the album. Miike Snow made us wait 3 long years for their sophomore album but I am not surprised by the quality of work that was produced. Now, if I could only pick their complex Swedish minds to interpret Continue reading


The Ting Tings Sounds from Nowheresville Drops Tomorrow…

Posted in Music News, News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on Monday, March 12, 2012 by Eric Gilardi

Again, here is the same old story with another band who had so much success from their debut album. How is your sophomore album going to be? For the duo from the UK, we can only hope that Sounds from Nowheresville is worth this long wait. The Ting Tings debut album We Started Nothing was released in May of 2008 and featured hits “That’s Not my Name”, “Great DJ” and “Shut Up and Let Me Go”. Katie White and Jules de Martino rode the success of the new album all the way to a nomination for Best New Artist at the 2010 Grammys.

Almost 4 years later we have arrived at the sophomore album so the name is fitting for the new album since we haven’t heard but a few glimpses off of it. The Ting Tings have been working on this album for a while and the few glimpses we have heard points in the direction that Sounds from Nowheresville will not disapoint. “Hands” was released in October of 2010 and is a catchy track that made its way onto the Fifa ’12 Soundtrack. That soundtrack I may add is one of the best sport games soundtracks of all time.

“Hang It Up” was released in October of last year on YouTube.

“Silence” is another track off of the new album and the remix was released on The Ting TingsVEVO last November. Even though it has taken the band almost 4 years they have leaked a few tracks so we can get excited about this new album. The album was released in the UK on February 27th and is due out March 13th in the US.