Archive for Holy Ghost

New Holy Ghost! via Green Label Sound

Posted in Audio, Downloads, Music News with tags , , , , , , on Friday, July 3, 2009 by Erik Burg

holy ghost record

The site/label that’s brought you great tracks from Matt & Kim to The Cool Kids is back once again to release the first Holy Ghost! track in two years. Green Label Sound, the indie-hipster side of Mountain Dew (I thought they only liked gamers) is ready and willing to give away the spooky disco single “I Will Come Back”. Brooklyn duo Nick Millhiser and Alex Frankel have been hard on the remix trail since their inception, but it’s their solo work that impresses me more often than their edits. And “I Will Come Back” is no exception, following in the disco footsteps, or dance pattern if you will, of “Hold On”, it features vocals that are reverbed and echoed to create a track that feels hollow, yet a drum kick that’s funky and fresh rounds the song into an extremely fun and danceable treat. And what else can you expect from DFA DJs, I mean come on. So turn it on and turn it up, for a free download it doesn’t get much better than this. Enjoy!

MP3: Holy Ghost! – “I WIll Come Back”


Album Preview: The Juan MaClean – “The Future Will Come”

Posted in Music News with tags , , , , , , , on Tuesday, February 3, 2009 by Erik Burg

The Juan and Nancy, names to remember in '09

The Juan and Nancy, names to remember in '09

It’s been four years in the making. It’s going to be featuring some of the best talent around. It’s being released on DFA. It ends with one of the best singles of 2008.

The Juan Maclean returns with a bang in 2009 with The Future Will Come, slated to be released on April 14th. The buzz surrounding this album and the anticipation along with it is unmatched. His last release in 2004 entitled Less Than Human has become a cult sensation thanks to the growing popularity of DFA records.

What makes the release so exciting is the fact that it features, as previously mentioned, the 2008 single “Happy House.” The track brought a new weapon to the Juan that wasn’t really utilized in the past: vocals. Fans of past DFA material should recognize the voice, seeing as she’s worked with headliners LCD Soundsystem for years now on their albums and live shows. It’s Nancy Whang, of course.

“In my career as the Juan Maclean, my guiding principle was to start out more dance-y and instrumental, and someday bow out making flat-out, three-and-a-half-minute pop songs”

Apparently drawing most of his influence from the album from The Human League, the Juan is moving into the realm of more 80’s styled pop music instead of the Air and Daft Punk instrumentals he has been known for on his albums and DJ sets. dfalogo2

The guests on the album are absolute outstanding as well. Nick Millhiser and Alex Frankel, the two halves of Holy Ghost! help out on the album, unknown whether its an actual contribution or production. Either way it’s good news. The Juan bring in !!! drummer Jerry Fuchs as well, again playing with new elements that a drummer that potentially loud and energetic can bring to the album.

I don’t want to crown this the Hercules & Love Affair of 2009 since I haven’t heard it yet, but the people involved in this project and the influences it draws upon point to success and success only. So save the date, April 14th. Track listing below:

1. “The Simple Life”
2. “The Future Will Come”
3. “One Day”
4. “A New Bot”
5. “Tonight”
6. “No Time”
7. “Accusations”
8. “The Station”
9. “Human Disaster”
10. “Happy House”

DFA records The Juan Maclean Nancy Whang

mp3: The Juan Maclean – “Happy House”

Shake Your Groove Thang

Posted in Music Reviews with tags , , , , , on Tuesday, November 18, 2008 by Erik Burg


brooklyen-jamThe world of psychedelic disco house has been heating up as of late. Kings of new-era mid tempo disco DFA and their partner record company Death From Abroad have been busy as of late, releasing singles from new and old acts alike. Starting with the new guys on the block, Runaway, Panther, and Yacht have all releases 45’s within the past few months and I’m just now discovering them (thanks iTunes Store (not)).

Although Yacht has releases various material on other labels, their first release on DFA is much different than material from their past. Most fans have heard “See a Penny” a fun electro-pop tune, but their new single “Summer Song” is a more low-fi, hand-clapping, droning vocals mix. Supposedly a track dedicated to James Murphy and the LCD Soundsystem crew from when the two acts toured together, “Summer Song” may come as a surprise to longtime Yacht fans, but the release has definite potential for fans of other acts from this great label.
Runaway, the work of Jacques Renault and Marcos Cabral, have released their first single on DFA as well. “Brooklyn Club Jam,” the electrifying seven and a half minute romp, starts as a minimal disco dub and then transforming into an up beat club banger much the likes of anything heard in Brooklyn these days (how convenient). The duo has been getting play around the globe with this hit, most notably Lindstrom and Prins Thomas’ essential bbc 1 mix, while other labels have been taking note as well. Runaway has released singles on Cosmo Vitelli’s I’m a Cliche label and European heavy weights Rekids company as well.

As for the recent releases from prior acts, Mock & Toof, The Juan Maclean, and Holy Ghost have all issues great tracks.

It’s hard to give enough praise to the New Mock & Toof effort “Underwater.” What starts as a pretty basic disco track from any other DFA act, Underwater soon takes off thanks to vocals that sooth more than blow away. The music slowly bends and builds in the six minutes, creating landscapes that relax and at the same time make you want to get up and grab the girl next to you and boogie the night away. Turning the corner at the three minute mark, Underwater takes on an entirely new element- the piano. After a short bit of silence and ambiance, the piano comes back and grabs the listener to create a beautiful and amazingly overwhelming sound that never looks back. Mock & Toof have done it again with this track, and one can only hope a full length will be released eventually instead of the usual two or three track 45s.

The Juan Maclean, busy as usual between full length albums various 45s and Djing constantly, released “The Simple Life” with the help of various friends. Nacy Whang, long time DFA partner and part of LCD Soundystem, lends vocals to the track that spins at a consistent tempo and rhythm. A fan of any other Juan project will find this track to be expected, and a nice layover until the release of his next full length.

Mentioned earlier as well, Holy Ghost has been busy, or rather their fans have been busy. Recently releasing a 45 with two great remixes on it, both remixes of last year’s surprise hit “Hold On.” Mock & Toof lend their hand to both mixes, a remix and a mod mix, both tracks are dance ready and worthy of play for any fan of the original track. On another note for Holy Ghost, Cut Copy‘s latest single is slated to have a remix of “Hearts on Fire”, the horn-friendly track off of their 2008 release In Ghost Colors.

Well for now that’s all I have in DFA related news, more should be expected when it comes about. Hopefully next time I’ll have some new Shit Robot material to talk about but that only seems to be on a year-to-year basis, so I’m not getting my hopes up just yet.

mp3 of these are hard to come by so just hit up the links ive got on their names to find the tracks mentioned. You can find most of the tracks on iTunes as well if you use that or you can buy the 45s from the DFA webstore, for all you vinyls lovers out there.